Release Date: June 24, 2014
Author: Terry Bisson
Publishers: Skyboat Media, Inc. and Blackstone Audio, Inc.

“Bisson’s distinctive style and priceless imagination lift his work to an altogether more exalted plane.”

Kirkus Reviews

Witty ATM machines, alien invaders of not just another species but another food group, and animals challenging what it means to be “civilized.” Intrigued yet? Each are stories found within Terry Bisson’s collection BEARS DISCOVER FIRE, AND OTHER STORIES.

“Whether narrating a parable of Earth’s dying (“Carl’s Lawn and Garden”), exploring the afterlife (“Necronauts”), or chronicling the relocation of a country (“England Underway”), Bisson continues to surprise his readers with his startling vision and iconoclastic imagination. These 19 stories (most published only in magazines) showcase the varied talents of a skilled and as yet unjaded writer.” –Library Journal 

Terry Bisson is an American science fiction and fantasy author of novels and short stories. In fact, his 1990 short story “Bears Discover Fire” won a Hugo and Nebula award, and his all-dialogue story “They’re Made out of Meat” is one of the most widely-reprinted SF stories of the last several decades.

For stories of this caliber, we brought in three outstanding voices: Grammy winner Janis Ian (the witty ATM machine); Broadway and TV actor and director, and Audie-winning narrator, Kristoffer Tabori (the foreign aliens, composed of meat); and Audie winner Stefan Rudnicki (taking on the title story itself). And those are just a few – plenty more to sink your teeth into, as you can see from the full Table of Contents below. Pick up a copy and start listening today!

Table of Contents:

Bears Discover Fire – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

The Two Janets – narrated by Janis Ian

They’re Made Out of Meat – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

Over Flat Mountain – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Press Ann – narrated by Janis Ian

The Coon Suit – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

George – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Next – narrated by Janis Ian

Necronauts – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

Are There Any Questions? – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Two Guys from the Future – narrated by Janis Ian

The Toxic Donut – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Cancion Autentica de Old Earth – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

Partial People – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Carl’s Lawn and Garden – narrated by Janis Ian

The Message – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

England Underway – narrated by Kristoffer Tabori

By Permit Only – narrated by Janis Ian

The Shadow Knows – narrated by Stefan Rudnicki

Share →