Skyboat Media and Spatterlight Press, together with Blackstone, are pleased to announce that we will be bringing the Demon Princes series by Jack Vance to audio in 2022.

Jack Vance (1916–2013) published his first story, “The World Thinker,” in 1945 and went on to write over sixty books. Best known as a science fiction and fantasy writer, Vance has won several awards in those genres, including the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement and a number of Hugo Awards. He also tried his hand at writing murder mysteries, a small dozen of which were published under his full name of John Holbrook Vance. In 1997, he was named a SFWA Grand Master. A 2009 profile in the New York Times Magazine described Vance as “one of American literature’s most distinctive and undervalued voices.”

The Demon Princes is a five-book series of science fiction novels by Jack Vance, which cumulatively relate the story of one Kirth Gersen as he exacts his revenge on five notorious criminals, collectively known as the Demon Princes, who carried his village off into slavery during his childhood. Each novel deals with his pursuit of one of the five Princes.

The Star King (1964)

The Killing Machine (1964)

The Palace of Love (1967)

The Face (1979)

The Book of Dreams (1981)

The five audiobooks will be narrated by Stefan Rudnicki. Rudnicki a Grammy-winning audiobook producer and an award-winning narrator who has won several Audie Awards, as well as more than twenty-five Earphones Awards, and been named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices.

The first volume, The Star King, will be released on February 22, 2022, followed monthly by the other four.

Skyboat Media, an award-winning publisher and production company, is honored to partner with Spatterlight Press. Run by John Vance, Spatterlight Press is dedicated to publishing the entire works of Jack Vance. Together, we are delighted to bring Jack Vance’s work to new life and new audiences on audio.

Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

32 + = 39